Carmel Owens named person of the year at Tech Excellence Awards

Carmel Owens, Sidero, a GlobalLogic Company

Ergo’s John Purdy accepts lifetime achievement award at gala event in Dublin


Carmel Owens, Sidero, a GlobalLogic Company

Carmel Owens was named person of the year at the 2024 Tech Excellence Awards in association with IP Telecom held last night at the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire. An industry veteran with some 20 years of service in the technology sector, Owens joined the Athlone-based managed services firm Sidero as CEO in 2021. This year she oversaw its merger with GlobalLogic, a Hitachi Group Company.

The company of the year award went to Cubic Telecom, which made the headlines last year with news of Softbank’s €473 million investment, valuing the IoT connectivity specialist at more than €900 million.

John Purdy, co-founder of Ergo, received the lifetime achievement award for his longstanding commitment to the technology sector in Ireland.



Two companies received a brace of awards. Softcat took home the multinational of the year and the sustainability awards, while DNA IT solutions were recognised in the marketing excellence and managed security services provider of the year.

“These Awards respect and reward the individuals and companies that compete in a constantly changing competitive environment,” said Billy Huggard, director of event organiser Mediateam.

“To be winners they are pioneers and leaders who raise the bar and give others the inspiration to achieve to the very best of their ability. We are so grateful that the Awards have themselves become recognised as a benchmark for success in our sector.”

Shena Brien, CEO, IP Telecom, added: “IP Telecom is delighted, once again as title sponsor, to congratulate all those who were nominated for the Tech Excellence Awards – and of course to the well-deserved winners. Behind every award is the story of individual, or team brilliance that has contributed something new to our Industry. Sharing those stories and honouring excellence, is key to sharing ideas and innovations, allowing us to learn from each other and innovate further.”

Full list of winners:

Person of the year (sponsored by IP Telecom) – Carmel Owens

Company of the year (sponsored by Elio Networks) – Cubic Telecom

Multinational of the year – Softcat

Lifetime achievement award (sponsored by DigitalWell) – John Purdy

CIO of the year (sponsored by Endava) – Paul Delahunty, Stryve

Rising star – Kateryna Pranichenko, The Project Foundry

IT project of the year (private sector) (sponsored by Ingram Micro) – Digital Realty with Enel X

IT project of the year (public sector) (sponsored by – An Garda Síochána

IT project of the year (SME) (sponsored by Enterpryze) – Savenet Solutions

Digital consultancy of the year (sponsored by iplicit Ireland) – Each&Other

Best place to work (sponsored by ESB) – Esri Ireland

Marketing excellence (sponsored by VidayoPro) – DNA IT Solutions

Diversity award (sponsored by Logitech) – Salesforce

Startup award (sponsored by ICS) – Telea

Sustainability award – Softcat

Vertical market specialist of the year – Intact Software

Distributor of the year (sponsored by Softcat) – DataSolutions, a Climb Company

Emerging technology innovation of the year (sponsored by TechRadio) – Adapt, SFI Research Centre for AI-Driven Digital Content Technology, and Huawei

IT architect of the year (sponsored by IASA) – Gareth Grimshaw, Logicalis Solutions

IT professional team of the year (sponsored by FIT) – eHealth (a division of the HSE)

Managed service company of the year (sponsored by Digital Realty) – Auxilion

Managed security service provider of the year (sponsored by CMS Distribution) – DNA IT Solutions

The Tech Excellence Awards were adjudicated by a panel of experts from industry, education and academia. This year’s panel comprised of Dr Eoin O’Driscoll (Tyndall National Institute), Dr Sean Baker (Lero), Dr Jim Mountjoy (Mountjoy & Associates), Peter McManamon (Atlantic Bridge Ventures), Ashling Cunningham (Irish Life), Louise Nicholls (Boku), Mary Cleary (CEPIS), Niall Kitson (, Bernie Cullinan (CXVP Global), and Peter Davitt (FIT).

TechCentral Reporters

Read More: #techex24 Tech Excellence Awards 2024

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top